Virginia law requires the use of seatbelts. Drivers who are under the age of 16 are supposed to be protected by a seatbelt or placed securely in a safety seat made for children no matter where they are sitting in the car.
For older adults aged 18 and above, not using the seatbelt is clarified as a secondary law. That means that you cannot be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt but if you are stopped for another reason, you will be charged for not wearing a seatbelt originally.
Alongside, not wearing a seatbelt is an offense of primary category for adults. The driver can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. Even if a driver is transporting someone who is below the age of 18 can be pulled over and charged a fine due to negligence.
Drivers residing in Virginia should know that not using a seatbelt is a primary offense in other states. Fines for violating seatbelt laws or child safety laws vary from $25-50. There are some exceptions to the seat belt laws in Virginia:
A- You may have a medical exemption. If someone has a medical condition, they can be exempted from the law of wearing a seatbelt. However, they have to prove the illness with a medical certificate.
B- In certain situations in which officers of law enforcement are in a situation in which it is an impractical thing to wear a seatbelt.
C- Passengers and drivers of taxis.
D- Mail careers operating in rural areas.
E- Municipal workers and trash collectors while they are engaged in their work.
All kinds of buses are not required to install seatbelts. Many lawmakers are looking forward to changing this law.
-What is the law for wearing a seatbelt?
According to primary law, the enforcement agencies can stop, if the passengers or drivers are not wearing a seatbelt. The non-conforming primary safety laws allow the non-usage of seatbelt in exceptional vehicles such as pickup trucks. The police are allowed to issue a citation according to secondary laws if the individual is stopped for any other traffic violation.
It is not necessary to wear a seatbelt for the drivers in the backseat after they reach a certain age. Depending on the state laws, passengers who are aged from 7 to 18 years can ride without a seatbelt in the backseat.
1- Crashes related to motor vehicles killed an estimated of 25,351 passengers who were traveling in motor vehicles including passenger cars, vans, and pickup trucks. 55 percent of the passengers involved in the accident were unrestrained.
2- The use of seat belts was around 74%in 2008 that shows us a 10 percent difference to the use of seat belts located in the front according to a report by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
3- The use of seat belts was comparatively higher in states that had traffic-related laws that required the use of seatbelts.